90% or 49% who cares?

So the favorite trope of “90% of people support background checks” (which is like saying “90% of people support police” or something equally silly) has been debunked again, this time by USA Today.

While I’m sure the gun grabbers will still continue to use the 90% myth, I say; so what? It doesn’t change anything.

If 4 out of 10 or 9 out of 10 people want me to never say another word, it doesn’t change (even slightly) the fact that I have a constitutionally protected right to tell them to go pound sand.

My wife resorts to this crap when she knows that she can’t win an argument based on logic or reason; “…well Jenny and Tammy think that you’re wrong.”

I don’t care that there are three of you with the same wrong opinion, it doesn’t change facts.

100% of the people I encounter today could tell me that if I shaved my goatee I’d look like Brad Pitt, it wouldn’t change the fact that I look absolutely nothing like Brad Pitt.

Wrong is wrong, and background checks don’t stop crime. Want proof?

Adam Lanza failed a background check and was denied the opportunity to purchase a rifle right before he shot up Sandy Hook. The background check system worked (which is amazing considering how flawed it is), and it still didn’t stop the crime.

But this is a little different. They’re using the statistic lie that 90% of people support background checks to say that it is “the will of the people”.

Still doesn’t make it Constitutional, or even a good idea.

I know that better than 90% of the people who pay income taxes want to pay less income tax (wonder if I can get a grant to conduct a study on that one?).

When that is grounds for abolishing income tax, then we can talk about background checks, ok sparky?

END

Leave a Reply

